9 Things We Can Learn From the Video of Daniel Radcliffe Wrapping Tefillin

I can think of a few choice people who could use this message, so here goes nothing:

  1. Just because a Jew is lax in his/her observance doesn’t mean s/he isn’t a huge help to the Jewish nation.
  2. If Orthodox Jews shame and ostracize non-Orthodox Jews for their lack of religious observance, then we are no better than the assholes who were behind Kristallnacht.
  3. Any idiot can do a mitzvah, correctly or incorrectly. But, like everything, it’s the intention behind it that really counts.
  4. One Jew is not better than another simply because he’s more frum. That’s bullshit.
  5. It does no good to hide one’s past, for said past may come back to either bite you in the ass or do insane amounts of good.
  6. No one can control whether s/he is a pig-eating, Israeli-flag-burning, sex-having shiksa or a black-crushed-hat, dog-hating, TV-condemning frum from birth, so stop judging right now. Again, it does absolutely no good.
  7. Labeling Jews based on their observance level does absolutely nothing at all but divide us.
  8. A Jew is a Jew is a Jew.
  9. Harry Potter can defeat Voldemort and still be totally, adorably clueless.
4 thoughts on “9 Things We Can Learn From the Video of Daniel Radcliffe Wrapping Tefillin

  1. Thank you for this post! I’m a secular Jew (mother’s Jewish, father’s a gentile; I wasn’t raised religious) and recently moved to a neighborhood with a fairly large Orthodox Jewish population. I often feel like I’m not a “real Jew” in comparison to them, even though I’m very passionate about Jewish culture/history and Israel. It’s nice to hear from someone who is frum that “One Jew is not better than another simply because he’s more frum” and that “Just because a Jew is lax in his/her observance doesn’t mean s/he isn’t a huge help to the Jewish nation.” Your stance also prompted me reflect on how I make assumptions about my Orthodox Jewish neighbors. I assume they are judging me for my appearance (e.g., tattoos, attire), when really I’m the one making judgments (assuming they don’t consider me a real Jew) based on their appearances. I haven’t had any conversations with them that suggest this assumption I impose on them. I think the takeaway from this post is to remind everyone: Klal Yisrael. I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

